Houston Baptist Church

Celebrating 166 Years of God's Faithfulness

On August 18, 1853, a group of Swedish immigrants gathered to worship for the first time in Houston, MN, having left their homeland to seek religious freedom and the ability to worship God according to the dictates of their own conscience. In our 166 year history, our priorities have not changed. We are a Bible-centered, Christ-exalting, and missions-oriented congregation that meets regularly for worship, study, and fellowship. We invite you to join us.

Much of our energy as a church is given to the ministry of prayer. If you have a need in your life, go to the menu at the top of the page and complete the simple prayer request form. Or you may call us at 507-896-3430, option 3 to access our "Prayerline."

As you explore our website, we hope that you will have your questions answered and your faith will be strengthened.

May God richly bless you!

Faith Builder Verse of the Week

Psalm 118:13-14 (ESV)

I was pushed hard, so that I was falling, but the Lord helped me. The Lord is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation.

Bible Reading for the Week

Monday, December 2 ~ Esther 1 ~ Revelation 2

Tuesday, December 3 ~ Esther 2-3 ~ Revelation 3

Wednesday, December 4 ~ Esther 4-5 ~ Revelation 4

Thursday, December 5 ~ Esther 6-7 ~ Revelation 5

Friday, December 6 ~ Esther 8-9 ~ Revelation 6

join us for...

The Advent Season

Sunday, December 1

Worship - First Sunday of Advent: Hope

10:00 AM | Sanctuary

Sunday, December 8

Worship - Second Sunday of Advent: Peace

10:00 AM | Sanctuary

Saturday, December 14

Children's Christmas Celebration

9:30 - 11:30 AM | Lower Level

Sunday, December 15

Worship - Third Sunday of Advent: Joy

10:00 AM | Sanctuary

HBC Christmas Program and Supper

5:00 PM | Sanctuary

Sunday, December 22

Worship - Fourth Sunday of Advent: Love

10:00 AM | Sanctuary

Tuesday, December 24

Christmas Eve Service

5:00 PM | Bethany Evanglical Free Church